Smarty Forum Index Smarty
WARNING: All discussion is moving to https://reddit.com/r/smarty, please go there! This forum will be closing soon.

Posting (without "contains POSTDATA message)

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Smarty Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
matted
Smarty Rookie

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 2:25 pm    Post subject: Posting (without "contains POSTDATA message) Reply with quote

I realize this is not a smarty question, per se, but since I can't find a solution anywhere else, but LOTS of web posts asking about it, I figured I'd try you Smarty veterans and see if anyone has a solution. Please bear in mind I am new to much of this sort of programming, so my stupid factor is large.

The problem:
In mozilla 1.4+, and some other browsers, I'm told, when you try to reload a page with a form, or go back to an immediately previous page that contained a form, you get a message like this:

Code:
The page you are trying to view contains POSTDATA. If you resend the data, any action the form carried out (such as search.. ) will be repeated.  To resend the data, click OK. Otherwise, click Cancel/

I assume this is why most bulletin boards, such as this one, alway go to an intermediate report page that lets the user either navigate back to the previous page, or go somewhere else (like the forum index).

Is there ANY way to avoid this annoying message, without that intermediate page? I've asked some pretty knowledgable programmers, and they just shrug and say "don't use mozilla." That solution is not sufficient. Since I have seen sites where it does not happen, there MUST be a way to prevent it.

Solutions welcome?
matted
Smarty Rookie

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 2:31 pm    Post subject: Update on problem and possible solution Reply with quote

Ok.. I just tried some new google words, and found this at